South West Cup cricket tournament is off the table – August Margaret River Mail

KEY PLAYER: Ben Lloyd shows the style that helped St Marys break their 35-year A-Grade premiership drought last season in the Barnard Cup. Photo: Vanessa Hatton.

KEY PLAYER: Ben Lloyd shows the style that helped St Marys break their 35-year A-Grade premiership drought last season in the Barnard Cup. Photo: Vanessa Hatton.

THE 2019-20 Busselton-Margaret River Cricket Association season is set to get under way on October 12, with four teams (St Marys, YOBS, Dunsborough and Margaret River Hawks) competing in A-Grade and six teams competing in B-Grade.

Cowaramup have dropped their top side from A-Grade to B-Grade in a bid to strengthen their club. Vasse, like Cowaramup, will also field only two sides, in the B-Grade and C-Grade divisions.

St Marys will enjoy the chance to defend their title as Barnard Cup and Yates Shield champions, while Vasse will make a bid for back-to-back flags in a row in the B-Grade competition for the Barnard Shield.

A planned new tournament between the top four Busselton-Margaret River clubs and the top four Bunbury clubs, “the South West Cup”, which was scheduled to start on October 26, has fallen in a hole and seems set to be abandoned, after the format was rejected by the Bunbury Cricket Association.

A special meeting to discuss the South West Cup was held at Barnard Park earlier this month and was well represented by Busselton-Margaret River clubs, but only one representative came from Bunbury to attend the meeting.

A shortened T20 competition in Busselton-Margaret River is due to start on November 23, with a T20 grand final set to be played at Barnard Park on December 21.

The draft home-and-away fixtures for 2019-20 have A-Grade programmed to be played over 13 rounds, while B-Grade sides will play 15 rounds each.

The finals are set to start on March 14, with the grand final on March 21.

This year’s windup is also planned to be held earlier, at the Barnard Park Pavilion on March 28, only one week after the grand final, in a bid to attract a stronger attendance at the windup.

At the BMRCA’s AGM in August, Pieter Bresser was re-elected president, while a new office-bearer, James Gannaway, was elected to replace Shamus Henry, who has retired as treasurer.

A call has gone out for more umpires to officiate in the Busselton-Margaret River competition.

Payments for umpires have gone up in a bid to attract more former players to don the black pants and white hat.

Anyone interested in umpiring senior cricket should contact the umpires coordinator, Allan Miller, on 0488 919 125 or by email at [email protected]

Craig Johnson has been elected the new president of the Masters competition in Busselton-Margaret River.

A meeting last week to discuss the Masters competition saw former president Glenn Paterson and former treasurer Dave Brookes retire from their positions, which they had held for over 20 years.

Players aged 40 and over who are interested in playing Masters cricket this season can contact Craig Johnson on 0419 904 941 or by email at [email protected]

Four teams are again set to play Masters cricket this season: Numbats and Gerry-Hattricks from Busselton, Dunsborough and Cowaramup Old Cricketers.

The first round of fixtures is likely to start around November 9 or November 16.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here