The Hundred 2020 fixtures: match dates and how to get tickets to the cricket tournament starting in July – The Telegraph


What is it?

You know how cricket already has all number of different formats (20-over matches, 50-over matches, four-day matches, five-day Test matches)… well this is another format: 100-ball matches.

Created by the England and Wales Cricket Board, The Hundred will begin in 2020 as an eight-team tournament. Each franchise will field a men and women’s team.

When is it?

The men’s competition will begin on Friday, July 17 when Oval Invincibles play Welsh Fire. Finals Day will take place at Lord’s on Saturday, August 15.

The women’s competition begins with Birmingham Phoenix against Manchester Originals on Wednesday, July 22. Women’s Finals Day is set for Friday, August 14 at Hove.

What are the teams and where will they be based?

All eight teams have been created from scratch by the ECB. The men’s teams are aligned with one of the major Test venues in England and Wales. Their equivalent women’s teams predominantly play their matches at smaller venues elsewhere.

Manchester Originals

  • Men: Old Trafford
  • Women: Old Trafford, Sedbergh School

Northern Superchargers

  • Men: Headingley
  • Women: Headingley, South Northumberland CC, York CC

Birmingham Phoenix

  • Men: Edgbaston
  • Women: Edgbaston, New Road

Trent Rockets

  • Men: Trent Bridge
  • Women: Trent Bridge, Grace Road, County Ground Derby

Welsh Fire

  • Men: Sophia Gardens
  • Women: Sophia Gardens, Bristol County Ground, Taunton

London Spirit

  • Men: Lord’s
  • Women: Lord’s, Chelmsford, Northampton

Oval Invincibles

  • Men: The Oval
  • Women: The Oval, Beckenham

Southern Brave

  • Men: Rose Bowl
  • Women: Rose Bowl, Hove

What is the competition format?

Both the men and women’s competitions follow largely the same format of a league and then play-offs. Each of the eight men’s teams will play four matches at home and four matches away – the extra match comes from playing their nearest geographical rival twice (home and away). The eight women’s team do not have that extra match and so play a total of seven fixtures in the league stage.

The play-offs then feature the top three teams at the conclusion of the league stage. The top team will progress straight to the final. The second and third teams will play each other in a semi-final contested at the same venue on the same day as the final.

Which players will be involved?

Each squad is made up of 15 players, the bulk of whom were selected in the official draft in October 2019.

Three players – one England central-contracted player and two ‘local icons’ – were assigned to each team before the draft. Teams were then able to fill the rest of their squad as they saw fit, with a maximum of three overseas players allowed per team.

The draft saw players split into seven salary bands (ranging from £125,000 to £30,000). Each team was able to select two players from each salary band and players were not selected if their reserve price was not met.

Each team will also be able to award one final contract at the minimum salary band to a ‘wildcard’ player following the conclusion of the 2020 Vitality T20 Blast group stage.

The women’s competition does not have the same draft as the men and each team is instead selected by a team’s head coach.

Each women’s team has already been assigned two England central-contracted players and one ‘marquee’ pick, which were announced on the night of the men’s draft. Teams have until the end of May 2020 to finalise the rest of their squads.

How does 100-ball cricket work?

The Hundred is like any other form of limited-overs cricket whereby each team has a certain numbers of balls to score more runs than the opposition. Simple.

However, there are a number of tweaks to ‘traditional’ cricketing norms in this format.

  • The Hundred does not use six-ball overs. Instead, the fielding side will change ends after 10 balls.
  • Those 10 balls do not necessarily have to come from the same person. Bowlers will deliver either five or 10 consecutive balls and each bowler will be able to deliver a maximum of 20 balls per game.
  • Each bowling side can use a strategic time-out of up to two-and-a-half minutes, when the coach is able to walk out to the middle and discuss tactics with their players.
  • Each batting team will begin their innings with a 25-ball powerplay, when only two fielders are allowed outside the 30-yard circle.

No match should last longer than two-and-a-half hours.

How do I get tickets? 

Tickets are available on The Hundred’s official website. Organisers have announced a pricing structure that means all junior tickets are just £5 for all matches.

What TV channels will it be on?

Every match will be broadcast on Sky Sports, with 10 men’s and eight women’s matches also shown on the BBC.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here